I’m not anyone special. I don’t do anything special, or say anything special. I don’t have a following on Facebook or Twitter, and I’m pretty sure that I’m the only one who’s really interested in my blog. 
Nothing about me really stands out and tells people that I’m special, and therefor, deserving of special treatment. Googling my name comes back with some pretty boring stuff (mostly origami videos on YouTube, and odd comments I’ve made here or there). 
For the most part, I’m okay with being a simple nobody. I don’t want to have internet fame, or any other kind of fame. Let those who want it, have it, I say. What I do want, however, is to be shown the basic respect that everyone (special or not) deserves. 
For many years, I’ve noticed that, had I been someone special, people would have treated me much differently. I wouldn’t have to necessarily be intelligent, or anything, just deemed special by enough people to have a big following. If I had more than a thousand followers on Twitter, or a few hundred on Facebook, suddenly, I’d be special. People would treat me differently. They wouldn’t argue with me as much, for example. They’d be trying to win my approval, as if it mattered. 
Adab, or good manners, is something that is extremely important in Islam, but most Muslims lack it. Adab means that we should treat all with respect, regardless of their Twitter-ness. We cannot just pick and choose who is worthy of being respected. It’s not based on popularity or coolness. It’s a basic human right. 
I’ve been blasted by keyboard warriors so many times that I’ve lost count. And every time that it happened, I thought to myself, “if I were someone special, would they have treated me like that?” The answer I always come back with is, “most likely not.” I’ve also been mistreated by people in halal restaurants, stores, even in the masjid. All because I wasn’t someone that the deemed special or important. I’m a nobody to them, and not deserving of kind treatment. 
If I had internet presence, and was amazingly good at self-promoting every single, mundane thing that I do, and had managed to get my face and name recognized, I am sure that I would be treated very differently by most who encounter me. 
My whole point is this, and I’ll repeat what I’ve already said about not wanting fame: I don’t want a following, or a band of groupies, or whatever. I’m not saying that is something that I desire to achieve. What I am saying is that we should all be treated with kindness and respect. And we should all be treating each other with respect. 
Stop writing people off as unimportant or not worthy of kind regard. 
You may not see them as special, but I am sure that somewhere, someone does. I’m pretty certain that my family thinks I’m special. My husband thinks that I’m a good cook, and artistic. My kids think I’m silly and cool. I may not be famous, but that doesn’t make me worthy or being looked over, again and again. 

