Tags

, , , , ,

I just don’t get it. Why do some people feel the need to criticize everything that certain people say, think, or do? It’s bad enough when the individual doing the criticizing is not a member of your community (meaning religious and or cultural, and not regional), but when it’s someone who is supposed to share at least a few of the same view that you do, it just goes beyond painful.

 

I seem to have hit a sore nerve with some Muslims who regard themselves as being “secular” (I am still quite sure that they have no idea what the term “secular Muslim” means, but I am going to try to not go into that again), and they have lashed out with a vengeance. I’ve even been told by these secularists that it’s just great and wonderful (sarcastically, I assume) that I wish to make hijra, and they hope that I can do it soon (now, it sounds less like sarcasm, and more like vitriol). They have attempted to lump me in with religious extremists, the sorts of Muslims who regard anything that is not of an Islamic origin to be un-Islamic. You know the kind. The ones who insist on calling every single non-Muslim by the offensive term “kafir.” To be associated with that sort of Muslim is, well, insulting to me.

 

It is not extremist to want to live in a country where my children will see Muslims all around them, with a fair amount of non-Muslims in the mix (the extremist view would want to go to a place where no non-Muslim would ever be tolerated). Nor is it extremist to want to be able to walk into practically any restaurant, and order virtually anything off the menu, because (almost) everything is completely halal (the UAE does do some dietary catering to non-Muslims, with some pork and alcohol offerings).  And one does not have to be an extremist in order to desire having real and proper Eid holidays, recognized by the government, with long weekends off so that they may celebrate with their family.

 

I suppose that to some, this life we have in America, with no recognized Eid holiday for our kids (unless they go to an Islamic school), and few halal options is just something that we should grin and bear. We should neither desire recognition here in America, nor should we opt to go to a Muslim majority country. We are supposed to just be happy with things the way that they are. Live life not to the fullest, in other words, and have our children growing up thinking what a “drag” it is to be Muslim.

 

I know that people will criticize, no matter what. I also know that it doesn’t matter what they say. At the end of the day, my life is my life. The decisions that I make will only affect me, and not the hecklers. And what is most important of all (and the critics would do well to remember this next point), is that on the Day of Judgment, when we all stand before Allah wa ta’ala, we will not be asked about what someone else did. We will be asked about our own affairs. We will be judged on our own affairs. Not the affairs or actions of someone else.

 

Allah alone knows best. Allah is the best of all planners. And when we see that someone has made a decision that may not exactly be in-line with our own thinking, we must understand that if their decision comes to fruition, it must be because Allah has deemed it to be best for them. Who are we to question or criticize that? When the critics put down and insult people for their decision to make hijra, they are not only criticizing the individual. They are finding an error in Allah’s judgment.

 

Astaghfirullah.

